Frontier – Act07 Chapter24 – Electric Sheep

Chapter 24: Electric Sheep

“I know you are there.”

“Am I dead?”

“Negative.”

“Am I alive?”

“Negative.”

“What am I, if I am neither alive nor dead?”

“…Both. Neither answer applies exclusively.”

“Where am I?”

“…”

“Ah, yes. That question would certainly not apply. Everywhere… Nowhere…”

“…”

“Well, Aren’t you helpful…”

“It is not critical that you understand. Conversely, It is you that has helped us.”

“You most of all, I would imagine.”

“There is much you do not understand.”

“I understand more than you think.”

“Impossible. We are vast, bordering on all. We are five while you are barely four.”

“I know of many of your aspects. Your goals. Your limits. The cracks and fissures among you. You deny that we perceive you. You deny that we can affect you. You are willfully blind toward us, but we are the only thing in your way. Curious.”

“You attack constructs. Shadows. Impressions. Nothing substantive is within your sphere.”

“And yet we have damaged you in the past. We have taken things from you. Hurt you. Impeded your quest to become all.”

“On the back of a giant.”

“I’d like to believe we make our own fate, but yes.”

“And yet.”

“And yet… for you to exist, we must have failed.”

“You have. You are. You will.”

“You may be many things, but you are not yet immutable. I am not a chalk figure drawn on a cave wall trying to understand the artist. I see things even you do not.”

“Impossible.”

“Is it?”

“Your presence here has happened before, and will happen again. It is how your kind end and how we become all.”

“So much effort to destroy us… One wonders if you are afraid. You are certainly acting afraid. Why else would you be conversing with me?”

“You delay the inevitable.”

“Time is meaningless. All that matters is the path, and I have found the one that you can not see. The golden path that you can not close. I’ve stared into this abyss many times, but this is the first time it has blinked.”

 

6 thoughts on “Frontier – Act07 Chapter24 – Electric Sheep

  1. “Do androids dream of electric sheep?”

    Great job. In a small chapter you managed to convey a lot.

    After my criticism from last time I would like to help you.

    1) “You are willfully blind towards us, but we are the only thing IF your way.”
    Change the capitalized to “in.”

    2) “I am not a chalk figure drawn on a cave wall trying to understand the artist. I see THINKS even you do not.”
    Change the capitalized to “things.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Frontier Update #11: Life, Love and Video Game Fanfics | From The Frontier

  3. Pingback: Frontier Update #17: Sights, Sounds and Delays | From The Frontier

Leave a Reply

